The Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition

The Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition was created in 1976 by a group of U.S. Representatives from the 18 Northeastern and Midwestern states. Its initial purpose was to assist those legislators to unite the votes of their colleagues during complex and controversial votes on allocating federal monies among the states. In short order, the Coalition members found that they had common interests in numerous other issues related to the economic well-being and environmental health of the Northeast-Midwest region.

Perennial issues of concern to the 164 representatives from the region (38 percent of the House of Representatives) include home energy assistance to low-income families, assistance to small manufacturers, clean water and safe drinking water revolving fund monies, community development block grants, weatherization assistance, watershed ecosystem restoration, and trade adjustment assistance.

The bipartisan Coalition is co-chaired by Congressmen David Joyce (R-OH) and Rick Nolan (D-MN). It is staffed by Chris Cooper (Office of Rep. Joyce) and Eddie Wytkind (Office of Rep. Nolan).

Members of the Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition are:

Lou Barletta (R-PA)
Jack Bergman (R-MI)
Mike Bishop (R-MI)
Michael Capuano (D-MA)
Yvette Clarke (D-NY)
Chris Collins (R-NY)
Charles Dent (R-PA)
Debbie Dingell (D-MI)
Mike Doyle (D-PA)
Sean Duffy (R-WI)
Marcia Fudge (D-OH)
Bob Gibbs (R-OH)
Brian Higgins (D-NY)
Bill Huizenga (R-MI)
David Joyce (R-OH)
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Mike Kelly (R-PA)
Dan Kildee (D-MI)
Ron Kind (D-WI)
James Langevin (D-RI)
Sander Levin (D-MI)
James McGovern (D-MA)
Paul Mitchell (R-MI)
John Moolenaar (R-MI)
Gwen Moore (D-WI)
Joe Morelle (D-NY)
Richard Neal (D-MA)
Rick Nolan (D-MN)
Mike Quigley (D-IL)
Jim Renacci (R-OH)
Tim Ryan (D-OH)
Bobby Rush (D-IL)
Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
Elissa Slotkin (D-MI)
Rashida Tlaib (D-MI)
GT Thompson (R-PA)
Paul Tonko (D-NY)
Michael Turner (R-OH)
Fred Upton (R-MI)
Peter Visclosky (D-IN)
Jackie Walorski (R-IN)
Peter Welch (D-VT)

Bold indicates the member is a co-chair.