Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition Elects New Co-Chairs

Starting with the new 115th Congress, the Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition has elected Congressmen David Joyce (R-OH) and Rick Nolan (D-MN) as its new Co-Chairs. Congressmen Joyce and Nolan will take the lead in directing the Congressional Coalition’s energy and resources toward fulfilling policy objectives critical to the Northeast and Midwest region.

Organized in 1976, the Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition enables Congressmen from across eighteen Northeast and Midwest states to work closely on issues critical to the region. Forty years later, the Coalition continues to benefit the region’s environment and economy with its influence on appropriations, legislation, and messaging.

Following the announcement of the new Co-Chairs, Northeast-Midwest Institute President and CEO Dr. Michael Goff stated, “The Institute looks forward to working with both Congressman Joyce and Congressman Nolan to support policies that advance the future of the region.”

The Northeast-Midwest Institute works to provide essential scientific research and policy analysis to the Coalition, and brings together regional stakeholders and lawmakers to work on solving major issues facing the region. The Institute congratulates Congressmen Joyce and Nolan and looks forward to continuing its partnership with the Coalition under their leadership. The Institute also thanks the outgoing Co-Chairs, Congressmen Mike Kelly (R-PA) and Jim McGovern (D-MA), for their outstanding leadership in years past.

For more information on the new Co-Chairs, visit the Northeast-Midwest Institute’s profiles on Congressman Joyce and Congressman Nolan.