The Northeast-Midwest Senate Coalition

The Northeast-Midwest Senate Coalition was created in 1978 as a sister organization to the Northeast-Midwest Congressional Coalition. Its initial purpose, as with the Congressional Coalition, was to assist those legislators in uniting the votes of their colleagues during complex and controversial votes on allocating federal funds to the region’s states. Senate Coalition members also found other common interests in numerous issues related to the economic health and environmental quality of the Northeast-Midwest region.

Issues of common concern to the region’s Senators include home energy assistance to low-income families, assistance to small manufacturers, clean water and safe drinking water revolving fund monies, community development block grants, weatherization assistance, watershed ecosystem restoration, and trade adjustment assistance.

The bipartisan Senate Coalition is co-chaired by Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH).

Members of the Northeast-Midwest Senate Coalition are:

Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Thomas Carper (D-DE)
Robert Casey (D-PA)
Susan Collins (R-ME)
Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)
Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
Jack Reed (D-RI)
Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Todd Young (R-IN)

Bold indicates the member is a co-chair.