The Senate and House Great Lakes Task Forces

The Senate and House Great Lakes Task Forces are bipartisan working groups within the Northeast-Midwest Congressional and Senate Coalitions that cooperate to enhance the economic and environmental health of the Great Lakes. Founded in the mid-1980s, the Great Lakes Task Forces work together to advocate for policies and programs that enhance our unique natural resource—the Great Lakes. The bipartisan Northeast-Midwest Coalitions have worked for over 30 years to advance the economic competitiveness, environmental quality, and energy interests of this 18-state region.

Members of the Great Lakes Task Forces work together to build support for key regional programs to enhance environmental quality and economic development throughout the Great Lakes basin. The Task Forces convene member-level and staff-level events, including meetings, hearings, and briefings. They also collaborate to exercise agency oversight, and advance legislative and appropriation initiatives.

The members of the Senate Great Lakes Task Force are:

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Mike Braun (R-IN)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Robert Casey (D-PA)
Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)
Richard Durbin (D-IL)
John Fetterman (D-PA)
Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
Amy Klobuchar (Vice-Chair) (D-MN)
Gary Peters (D-MI)
Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Tina Smith (D-MN)
Debbie Stabenow (Co-Chair) (D-MI)
J.D. Vance (Co-Chair) (R-OH)
Todd Young (Vice-Chair) (R-IN)

The members of the House Great Lakes Task Force are:

Jack Bergman (R-MI)

Shontel Brown (D-OH)
Debbie Dingell (Co-Chair) (D-MI)

Bill Foster (D-IL)
Mike Gallagher (R-WI)

Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
Brian Higgins (D-NY)
Bill Huizenga (Co-Chair) (R-MI)

John James (R-MI)
David Joyce (Co-Chair) (R-OH)
Marcy Kaptur (Co-Chair) (D-OH)
Mike Kelly (R-PA)
Dan Kildee (D-MI)
Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL)
Lisa McClain (R-MI)
John Moolenaar (R-MI)
Gwen Moore (D-WI)

Joe Morelle (D-NY)

Frank Mrvan (D-IN)
Mike Quigley (D-IL)

Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
Brad Schneider (D-IL)
Hillary Scholten (D-MI)

Elissa Slotkin (D-MI)

Pete Stauber (R-MN)
Haley Stevens (D-MI)
Shri Thanedar (D-MI)

GT Thompson (R-PA)
Rashida Tlaib (D-MI)

Michael Turner (R-OH)

Tim Walberg (R-MI)

Bold indicates the member is a Co-Chair or Vice-Chair.