The Delaware River Basin Task Force

The Delaware River Basin Task Force was created in 1999 to better coordinate efforts to promote river basin restoration through appropriations, authorizations, and other federal legislation. The Task Force is currently co-chaired by Reps. Charles Dent (R-PA), and John Carney (D-DE).

The Delaware River Basin Task Force is a bipartisan group of members of the U.S. House of Representatives from all four basin states (Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania) that coordinate Congressional efforts to promote the restoration and vitality of the Delaware River Basin and its communities. The goal of the task force is to promote the health and well-being of the region’s natural resources by organizing educational briefings, formulating joint responses to emergencies, coordinating legislative efforts, tracking legislation and the appropriations process, and promoting other initiatives. The task force identifies and coordinates efforts on issues of importance to the nearly 15 million people who rely on the Delaware River’s waters.

Members of the Delaware River Basin Task Force (as of June 2015) are:

Robert A. Brady (D-PA)
John Carney (D-DE)
Charles W. Dent (R-PA)
Chaka Fattah (D-PA)
Leonard Lance  (R-NJ)
Frank A. LoBiondo (R-NJ)
William J. Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ)
Christopher H. Smith (R-NJ)

Bold indicates the member is a co-chair.