Investing in Manufacturing Communities Reception

NEMWI last week co-hosted a Capitol Hill reception that provided a unique opportunity for Members of Congress and Hill staff to learn first-hand from 24 manufacturing communities about their experiences as “Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership” (IMCP) designees. More than 150 people attended the reception including representatives from communities around the country, federal agency representatives, and Members of Congress and their manufacturing staffers.

NEMWI President & CEO Dr. Michael Goff provided opening remarks celebrating coalition-building fostered by the Institute, the IMCP designees, and the bi-partisan NEMW Coalition. He was followed by Jay Williams, U.S. Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Economic Development, who stressed the Administration’s commitment to manufacturing. Deputy Secretary of Commerce
Bruce Andrews and Mayor Virg Bernero of Lansing, Michigan also provided remarks, each emphasizing the successes of the IMCP program and supporting its codification.

IMCP is the Administration’s key effort to promote new manufacturing activity in 24 designated community consortia areas across the country, focusing on a range of industrial sectors. IMCP has been established to help communities deploy and leverage a range of federal economic development, technical, and training resources, and promote creative public-private partnerships, taking advantage of emerging in-shoring opportunities, as well as encouraging new investment in expanding domestic operations.

IMCP designees from the Northeast-Midwest region are:

  • The Greater Pittsburgh Metals Manufacturing Community, led by Catalyst Connection in Pittsburgh, PA
  • The Madison Regional Economic Partnership (MadREP) in the Madison, WI region
  • The Greater Peoria Economic Development Council leading a five county region in central Illinois
  • The Minnesota Medical Manufacturing Partnership, led by GREATER MSP in Minneapolis, MN
  • The Connecticut Advanced Manufacturing Communities Region, a four county area centered on Hartford, Connecticut, led by the State of Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
  • The Chicago metro region, led by the Cook County Bureau of Economic Development
  • Greater Portland region in Maine, led by the Greater Portland Council of Governments
  • Southeastern Michigan, led by the Wayne County Economic Development Growth Engine
  • The New York Finger Lakes region, led by the City of Rochester
  • Southwestern Ohio Aerospace Region, led by the City of Cincinnati
  • The Milwaukee 7 Region, led by the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Milwaukee

For more information, contact Colleen Cain, Senior Policy Analyst at NEMWI.