## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

November 20, 2013

The Honorable Bill Shuster Chairman U.S. House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee 2165 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Barbara Boxer Chairman U.S. Senate Environment and Public Works Committee 410 Dirksen Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Shuster and Chairman Boxer:

Small ports and harbors in our Congressional districts have long been underfunded, and in recent years, most of these ports and harbors have been "zeroed out" in the Administration's budget request to Congress. That is why we are writing to support a provision in H.R. 3080, the Water Resources Reform and Development Act, that will significantly improve the outlook for small ports and harbors going forward.

Section 202 of H.R.3080 sets aside ten percent of expenditures from the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 for dredging and jetty maintenance at "emerging harbors." H.R.3080 defines emerging harbors as ports and harbors that transit less than 1,000,000 tons of commerce annually. Not only do we support this set-aside, we support making the set-aside for emerging harbors permanent.

Predictable funding is essential to keeping our ports open and safe, and to ensuring coastal and inland waterway communities are able to thrive. Without a set-aside, many of our nation's small ports and harbors will silt in and become unusable long before funding is made available. The set-aside will ensure that the Corps fulfills its obligation to dredge, rebuild, and maintain ports and harbors both big and small.

The ports and harbors in our districts support the activities of Federal agencies, such as the U.S. Coast Guard, and are home to fishing fleets, marinas and recreational facilities. Each year Congress does not appropriate adequate funding for small ports and harbors, our coastal and inland waterway communities suffer. We encourage you to protect these ports and harbors by including the set-aside for emerging ports in the final legislation.

Sincerely,

Peter DeFazio
Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress



Colleen Hanabusa Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Pedro Pierluisi Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Louise Slaughter Member of Congress

Brad Schneider Member of Congress

Whit fild Ed Whitfield Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Stephen/Fincher Member of Congress

Thomas Petri Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Member of Congress

Greg Walden Member of Congress

Don Young

Member of Congress

**Chris Collins** Member of Congress

Rick Crawford Member of Congress Member of Congress Tom Reed Member of Congress Member of Congress Mike Kelly Carol Shea-Porter Member of Congress Member of Congress Mike McIntyre Rick Larsen Member of Congress Member of Congress Chellie Pingree Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress Member of Congress Bill Keating Joe Courtney Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress